APPLICATION FOR ABATEMENT OF PROPERTY TAXES
For property in the unorganized territory

36 M.R.S. §§ 841-849, and Property Tax Bulletin No. 10

This application must be filed with Maine Revenue Services (“MRS”) at the address below. A separate
application should be filed for each separately assessed parcel of real estate claimed to be overvalued.

1. Name: Property ID:
2. Mailing address:
City: State: ZIP: Country:
3. Email: 4. Phone:
5. Tax year fOr aDateMENL:.......c.ccoiiiiiiiiiieiieeie ettt ettt e eae e seeebeeseeesseensaeenseas
6. Assessed value Of 1eal €State:.......cooviiiiiiiiiiie e
7. Reduction of real estate value requested:...........coooviiriiiiiiiiinieee e
8. Assessed value of personal ProPerty:.......cccueecuieriiiiieiie ittt

9. Reduction of personal property value requested:...........ccovvreviiieriieeiiieeiieeeeeee e

10. Reasons for requesting abatement (please be specific about the reason(s) you believe the assessment is
illegal, erroneous, or that the property is overvalued for tax purposes, and include supporting documentation
such as comparable sales/deed reference):

DECLARATION(S) UNDER THE PENALTIES OF PERJURY. I declare that I have examined this return/
report/document and (if applicable) accompanying schedules and statements and to the best of my knowledge
and belief they are true, correct, and complete. Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all
information of which preparer has any knowledge.

Signature of applicant Date

Mail this application to:

- Maine Revenue Services -
Property Tax Division Rev. 6/24

P.O. Box 9106
Augusta, ME 04332-9106



INSTRUCTIONS

Submit this application to MRS within 185 days of commitment. Commitment is the date when annual
property tax is determined and bills are generated, normally in August. An abatement request is not a guaran-
tee of reduced tax. By law, a taxpayer must prove that the actual value of their property is lower than the MRS
assessment. Proof may include, for example, documentation of recent sales of similar property or a significant
error on the taxpayer’s property record card.

If you do not pay your tax bill due to an abatement request, you will be charged interest on any past due tax,
even if the abatement is granted and your tax bill is lowered. If you pay the full amount of your tax when due
and an abatement is later granted, the municipality will refund the amount of tax you overpaid. For more
information about the abatement and appeals process, see Bulletin No. 10 — Abatement and Appeals Procedures.

Line 1. Name. Enter the name of the property owner and property ID.

Line 2. Mailing address. Enter the address where MRS should send all correspondence regarding this
abatement request.

Lines 3 - 4. Phone and email. Enter the best contact information for MRS to get in touch with you.

Line 5. Tax year for abatement. Enter the year or years you are requesting an abatement of taxes. In most
cases, MRS can only abate taxes for the current tax year.

Line 6. Assessed value of real estate. Enter the value of real estate (land and buildings) as reported on your
property tax bill.

Line 7. Reduction of real estate value requested. Enter the amount that you want subtracted from the value
on line 6. For example, if your property is valued at $200,000 and you think the correct value is $175,000, enter
$25,000 on this line. If you are awarded a reduction of value, that amount will be

multiplied by the property tax rate to determine your tax abatement.

Line 8. Assessed value of personal property. Enter the value of personal property (any property not included
as real estate) as reported on your property tax bill. If you are not requesting abatement of your personal
property assessment, leave this line blank.

Line 9. Reduction of personal property value requested. Most abatement requests involve real estate. If you
are requesting a reduction in the value of your personal property, however, enter the amount of value
reduction you are requesting.

Line 10. Reasons for requesting abatement. Summarize your request for an abatement of taxes. To receive
an abatement of taxes, a taxpayer must prove that their property is overvalued or that there is some other
illegality or error in their assessment. Mention the reasons why you think your property should be valued at a
lower amount and attach any associated proof to this application.
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