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BUREAU OF CONSUMER CREDIT PROTECTION
Chapter 707:
ESTABLISHMENT OF LICENSE AND RENEWAL FEES AND APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MAINE’S LOAN BROKER LICENSING AND REQUIREMENT FOR LICENSING THROUGH THE NATIONWIDE MULTISTATE LICENSING SYSTEM (NMLS)
SUMMARY
This Chapter makes the modifications necessary to transition licensing of all loan brokers currently licensed by the State of Maine to a multi-state system administered by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS). As authorized by law, this Chapter converts the two-year license for loan brokers who do not make or arrange residential mortgage loans to a one-year license and eliminates the January 31st licensing date, substituting an annual license effective from January 1 through December 31 of each year. It sets application and renewal fees for loan brokers. The rule permits currently licensed non-residential mortgage loan brokers to transition as renewals onto the system for a limited period of time starting November 1, 2023 and permits applicants for new licenses to apply to NMLS as of the effective date of this rule.  It also sets requirements for information and documentation to be provided by applicants.
I.
Authority
Pursuant to 9-A M.R.S. § 10-201(4), the Administrator may establish, by rule, fees to apply for or renew licenses, except that the fee for an initial application may not exceed $1,000.00 and the fee for a renewal may not exceed $600.00 for any licensed location. Renewal applications received after the expiration date are subject to a late fee of $100.00.  
Title 9-A M.R.S. § 6-105-A authorizes the Administrator to establish routine technical rules to transition loan broker licensing to the Nationwide Multi-state Licensing System (NMLS), including rules authorizing NMLS to collect fees and remit those fees to the Bureau; authorizing collection of fees by NMLS for its processing costs; authorizing NMLS to process and maintain license records; and authorizing the use of NMLS’s uniform forms.
Title 9-A M.R.S. § 10-201(4) authorizes the Administrator to establish routine technical rules to establish fees for the initial licensing and renewal licensing of supervised lenders and for the establishment of licensing requirements.
II.
Purpose
The purpose of this Chapter is to permit the State of Maine to utilize NMLS for the licensing of all loan brokers. Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the companies, simplify recordkeeping, and standardize processes for all loan brokers licensed in Maine. This Chapter also establishes requirements for application for licensing and sets fees for initial and renewal licensing.
III.
Definitions
For the purpose of this Chapter, the following terms have the following meanings:
A. “Administrator” means the Superintendent of the Maine Bureau of Consumer   Credit Protection.
B. “Bureau” means the Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection.
C. “Change of control” means a change in the direct or indirect ownership of the licensee of 25% or more.
D. “Consumer Report” means any written, oral, or other communication of any information by a consumer reporting agency bearing on a consumer’s credit worthiness, credit standing, credit capacity, character, general reputation, personal characteristics, or mode of living which is used or expected to be used or collected in whole or in part for the purpose of serving as a factor in establishing the consumer’s eligibility for credit or insurance to be used primarily for personal, family, or household purposes; employment purposes; or in connection with a determination of an applicant’s eligibility for a license or other benefit granted by a governmental instrumentality required by law to consider an applicant’s financial responsibility or status.
E. “Controlling person”” means an individual, wherever located in the chain of ownership of the applicant, who controls more than 25% of the ownership interests in the applicant.
F. “Loan Broker” has the same meaning as set forth in 9-A M.R.S. § 10-102(1).
G. “Nationwide Multistate Licensing System,” herein referred to as “NMLS,” means the nationwide multi-state licensing system and registry for mortgage lender licensing and loan brokering referred to in 9-A M.R.S. §§ 2-302 and 10-201 (previously the “Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System”).
IV. General Provisions
A.
Application Contents.  Each applicant for a license or renewal shall supply the following information and documentation either to NMLS or to the Administrator on such forms as the Administrator requires:
1. 
The type of service as a loan broker in which the applicant is involved.
2.
The applicant’s full legal name and address of the home or principal office.
3.
The full legal name of the applicant and the address(es) from which the business of the applicant will be conducted.
4.
The following information regarding associated individuals and the applicant:
a. For sole proprietorships, full legal name, address, date of birth,   

       and Social Security Number of the proprietor.

b. For partnerships, full legal names, addresses, dates of birth and 
      Social Security Numbers of all partners.

c. For all entities, full legal names, addresses, date of birth and 
      Social Security Numbers of all controlling persons.

d. For corporations and limited liability companies:

i. The names and addresses, dates of birth, and Social
       Security Numbers of all officers; and 
ii. The federal Tax Identification Number of the entity, 
       state of incorporation/organization and, if a foreign 
      entity, a copy of the authorization from Maine Secretary 
      of State to do business in Maine as a foreign entity.
5.
Name and address of the designated agent upon whom service of process may be made in this 
             State.
6.
A list of all creditors for which the applicant arranges loans for Maine consumers, and the total 
             amount of the loans arranged for those creditors during the most recent calendar year.
7.
Identification of each financial institution in which the applicant maintains a consumer trust 

account and the account number assigned by the institution to the account.
8.
Whether any owner, partner, executive officers, manager who will be in charge of the location to 

be licensed, or holder of a controlling interest has been involved in material litigation and/or 
convicted of a crime for the ten (10) year period prior to this application. If so, for each such instance, provide the title of the action, jurisdiction, date of disposition, and a detailed explanation of the individual’s involvement.
9.
A criminal history report for each owner, partner, executive officers, manager who will be in charge of the location to be licensed or holder of a controlling interest

10.
A professional résumé for each principal officer, owner, and controlling person of the applicant.
11.
The following documents:



a)
A completed bond, using the form posted on the Bureau’s website;
b. A sample copy, completed so as to reflect a hypothetical transaction, of   

      the signed written agreement (contract) containing a description of   

      services offered, guarantees or promises of refund, effective term of 
      agreement, terms of payment, and the "Notice to Consumer," as required 
      by 9-A M.R.S. § 10-302;


c)
A sample copy, showing provision for proof of receipt by the consumer, 
                                       of the written disclosure, setting forth material consumer protections as
                                       required by   9-A M.R.S. § 10-303;
12.
Each application must be accompanied by evidence of a surety bond, in a form approved by the 
             Administrator, and in the aggregate amount of $25,000.00, to run to the State of Maine for use by 

the State and any person or persons who may have a cause of action against a loan broker.

Notwithstanding the foregoing requirement, the aggregate amount of a surety bond accompanying 
the application of a loan broker conducting business solely as a facilitator of a refund anticipation 
loan or refund anticipation check must be $10,000.00. The term of the bond must run concurrently with the period of time during which the license will be in effect.   
13.
A consumer report on each owner, officer, and controlling person of the applicant.
14.
Any additional information required by NMLS when licensing transfers to NMLS.
B. Administrative authority granted to NMLS. To effectuate the transition of all loan broker   

  licensing to NMLS, NMLS is authorized to collect fees and remit those fees to the Bureau, collect  
  fees for its processing costs, process and maintain license records, and require use of NMLS 
  uniform electronic and paper forms.
C. Licensing periods.
1.
Loan Brokers. Previously, licenses for loan brokers which do not make residential mortgage loans were granted for a two-year period and expired on January 31. Effective with this rule, licenses are granted for a one‑year period commencing January 1 and expiring on December 31 of the same year.  Loan brokers who arrange residential mortgage loans are already licensed through NMLS for the same license term. 
2. Supervised lenders and loan brokers that hold a valid Maine license as of November 1, 2023.
a. Transitional period. The period November 1, 2023 through December 31, 2023 is considered a transitional period, during which all existing loan brokers which do not arrange residential mortgage loans must transition from the State of Maine’s licensing system and must obtain licenses through NMLS.
b. One-month late transitional period. All renewal applications from existing licensees received between January 1, 2024 and January 31, 2024 will be processed, but applicants will be assessed a late fee of $100.00.
c. Deadline. Renewal applications will not be accepted after January 31, 2024. All applications received after that date will be considered new applications.
d. NMLS processing fees. At the time existing licensees apply to NMLS for a renewal license, they must pay the NMLS processing fee directly to NMLS.

e. Licenses which expire on January 31, 2024.  A licensee whose current license expires on January 31, 2024 must still transition to NMLS by December 31, 2023.
f. State of Maine renewal license application fees. Fees assessed to all renewal applicants after the effective date of this rule are as follows:
i.
Loan Broker renewal fee: $200.00;
ii.
Loan Broker branch office renewal fee: $100.00;
iii.
Licensees with current licenses scheduled to expire on January 31, 2025 must still transition to NMLS by December 31, 2023 but will not be charged a fee from the Bureau for calendar year 2024.  The fee to register on NMLS will be required.

3. Applicants that do not hold a valid Maine loan broker license as of the effective date of this rule. (“new applicants”)
a. NMLS processing fees. Applicants that submit applications after the effective date of this rule and prior to November 1, 2023 shall do so on forms required by the Administrator.  Any license granted after the date of this rule and prior to November 1, 2023 shall expire on December 31, 2023.
b. Terms of licenses. All licenses will be for the term of the calendar year. New licenses issued November 1 or later each year shall be valid through December 31 of the following year.
c. State of Maine new license application fees. Fees assessed to new applicants (as well as existing licensees that do not renew by January 31, 2023 and re-apply after January 31, 2023) are as follows:
i)
Loan Broker application fee: $300.00;
ii)
Loan Broker branch office application fee: $150.00.
4. New licenses and renewal licenses issued following completion of the transition to NMLS
a. NMLS to determine license and renewal procedures. New licenses and renewal licenses issued after November 1, 2023 shall be processed pursuant to the procedures established by NMLS.
b. NMLS to determine time periods for license validity. New licenses and renewal licenses issued after the effective date of this rule shall be valid for the time periods established by NMLS.
c. Payment of fees. Application, renewal and processing fees will be paid directly to NMLS.
d. Late renewal. Renewal applications received after December 31 of any year will be considered late. The status of such licenses will be changed to “terminated – failed to renew” or an equivalent status. Such licenses may be reinstated if a renewal application is received between January 1 and the end of February, together with all renewal fees and late fee of $100.00.  Beginning March 1 of any year, renewal requests will not be processed, and companies must apply for a new license.
5. Changes to existing licensing information. If any information reported by a licensee changes during a period of licensure, the licensee must amend its information on file with NMLS within 30 days of the occurrence of the change or such shorter period as required by NMLS rules or procedures.  Notice of a change of control of the licensee must be provided to the Bureau by advance change notice on NMLS and the Bureau must approve any change of control before the same becomes effective. 
6. Unique identifier shown. A loan broker must list its NMLS unique identifier in any advertising that references the availability of loans or loan-related services.
7. Routine technical rule. This is a routine technical rule as authorized by 9-A M.R.S.                    § 6‑105-A(1) and 9-A M.R.S. § 10-201(4).
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