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Chapter 710:
ESTABLISHMENT OF LICENSE AND RENEWAL FEES AND APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS FOR MAINE’S PAYROLL PROCESSOR LICENSING AND REQUIREMENT FOR LICENSING THROUGH THE NATIONWIDE MULTISTATE LICENSING SYSTEM (NMLS)
SUMMARY
This Chapter makes the modifications necessary to transition licensing of all payroll processors currently licensed by the State of Maine to a multi-state system administered by the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS). As authorized by law, this Chapter eliminates the current January 31 licensing date, substituting an annual license effective from January 1 through December 31 of each year; and sets application and renewal fees and application requirements for payroll processors. The rule permits currently licensed payroll processors to transition as renewals onto the system for a limited period of time starting November 1, 2023 and permits applicants for new licenses to apply through the NMLS as of August 1, 2023.
I.
Authority
Pursuant to 10 M.R.S. §1495-D(1-A), the Administrator may establish, by rule, fees to apply for or renew licenses, except that the fee for an initial application may not exceed $1,200.00, and the fee for a renewal may not exceed $1,200.00 for any licensed location. Renewal applications received after the license expiration date are subject to a late fee of $100.00. 
Title 10 M.R.S. §1495-D(1-A) authorizes the Administrator to establish routine, technical rules to establish licensing requirements, transition payroll processor licensing to the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS), including rules authorizing the NMLS to collect fees and remit those fees to the Bureau; authorizing collection of fees by the NMLS for its processing costs; authorizing the NMLS to process and maintain license records; and authorizing the use of NMLS uniform forms.
II.
Purpose
The purpose of this Chapter is to permit the State of Maine to use the NMLS for licensing of all payroll processors. Use of the system will provide improved oversight over the activities of the licensed companies and will simplify recordkeeping and standardize processes for all payroll processors licensed in Maine. This Chapter does not modify the standards for licensing or the applicability of the provisions of the Maine Payroll Processor Act, but rather sets forth the licensing provisions to be utilized henceforth by the Bureau.

III.
Definitions
For the purpose of this Chapter, the following terms have the following meanings
1. “Administrator” means the Superintendent of the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection.
2. “Bureau” means the Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection.

3. “Nationwide Multistate Licensing System,” herein referred to as “NMLS,” means the nationwide multi-state licensing system and registry for mortgage lender licensing and loan brokering referred to in 9-A M.R.S. §13-102(8) (previously the “Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System”).

4. “Payroll processor” has the same meaning as set forth in 10 M.R.S. §1495(3).
IV. General Provisions
1. Administrative authority granted to NMLS. To effectuate the transition of all payroll processor licensing to NMLS, NMLS is authorized to collect fees and remit those fees to the Bureau, collect fees for its processing costs, process and maintain license records, and require use of NMLS uniform electronic and paper forms.
2. Licensing periods.

Payroll processor. Previously, licenses for payroll processors were granted for a 1-year period and expired on January 31.  Effective beginning January 1, 2024, licenses are granted for a one‑year period commencing on January 1 and expiring on December 31st.
3. Payroll processors that hold a valid Maine license as of September 30, 2023.
a. Transitional period. The period from November 1, 2023 through December 31, 2023 is considered a transitional period, during which all currently licensed payroll processors will have the obligation to transition from the State of Maine’s licensing system and must obtain licenses through  NMLS.
b. One-month late transitional period. All renewal applications from existing licensees received between January 1, 2024 and January 31, 2024 will be processed, but applicants will be assessed a late fee equal of $100.00.
c. Deadline. Renewal applications for calendar year 2024 will not be accepted after January 31, 2024. All renewal applications received after that date will be considered new applications.
d. NMLS processing fees. At the time existing licensees apply to  NMLS for a renewal license, they must pay  NMLS processing fee directly to  NMLS.

e. State of Maine renewal license application fees. Fees for yearly renewals commencing January 1, 2024 are as follows:
i.   For a limited and full-service payroll processor having fewer than  

            25 employers as clients:    $300.00
ii.  For a limited and full-service payroll processor   

     having from 25 to 500 employers as clients:  $600.00
iii.  For 
a limited and full-service payroll processor   

     having more than 500 employers as clients:   $900.00
                                       iv.   For a restricted payroll processor:       $200.00
4. For applicants that do not hold a valid Maine payroll processor license as of  November 1, 2023 
a. NMLS processing fees. Applicants that submit initial applications after  November 1, 2023 will do so through  NMLS and pay  NMLS the processing fee directly to  NMLS.

b. Terms of licenses. All licenses will be for the term of the calendar year. New licenses issued November 1 or later each year shall be valid through December 31 of the following year.
c. State of Maine new license application fees. As of the effective date of this rule, fees assessed to new applicants are as follows:
                          i.          For limited and full-service payroll processors                

                                      having fewer than 25 employers as clients:   $300.00
ii. For limited and full-service payroll processors having from 25 to 500 employers as clients:  $600.00
iii. For limited and full-service payroll processors having more than 500 employers as clients:  $900.00

iv. For restricted payroll processors:  $200.00.
5. New applicants prior to November 1, 2023.
New applicants after the effective date of this rule that are granted a license prior to November 1, 2023, will be issued a license valid until December 31, 2023.  Such applications shall be made on forms as required by the Administrator and filed with the appropriate fees directly with the Bureau.
6. New licenses and renewal licenses issued following completion of the transition to NMLS.
a. NMLS to determine license and renewal procedures. New licenses and renewal licenses issued after the effective date of this rule shall be processed pursuant to the procedures established by NMLS.
b. NMLS to determine time periods for license validity. New licenses and renewal licenses issued after the effective date of this rule shall be valid for the time periods established by NMLS.
c. Payment of fees. Application, renewal and processing fees will be paid directly to  NMLS.
d. Late renewal. Renewal applications received after December 31 of any year will be considered late. The status of such licenses will be changed to “terminated – failed to renew” or an equivalent status. Such licenses may be reinstated if a renewal application is received between January 1 and the end of February, together with all renewal fees and late fee of $100.00. Beginning March 1 of any year, renewal requests for companies that did not renew their license by March 1 will not be processed and the company must apply for a new license.
7. Application Contents.  Applicants for new and renewal licenses shall provide the following information and documentation as required by the Administrator either for in-office filings or on NMLS:
a. Legal name and address, telephone number, website, federal id number or social security number as applicable.

b. All locations in Maine from which business will be transacted.

c. Any assumed or fictitious names under which business will be transacted.

d. Name, address and account number(s) for each financial institution in which customer funds will be held.

e. The name, address and account number(s) for each account which the applicant will use to conduct business.

f. A description of the activities conducted by the business and a history of operations.

g. A business plan.
h. The name, title, address, telephone number and email address of the person to contact if the Bureau receives consumer complaints regarding the activities of the company.

i. The name, title, address, telephone number and email address of the person to contact for the scheduling of routine compliance examinations.

j. For corporations: the date and state of incorporation;  a certificate of good standing from the state of incorporation; a complete description of corporate structure, including parents and subsidiaries, and whether any are publicly traded on any stock exchange; a certified copy of authority to do business in Maine as a foreign corporation, LLC, LLP, or other foreign entity required to register with the State of Maine before doing business, including any assumed or fictitious names; the name and address of designated agent upon whom service of process may be made in this State

k. For all entities, including partnerships and sole proprietorships: a copy of the most recent audited financial statement and, if available, audited financial statements for the immediately preceding two-year period.  

l. All applicants must provide the names, business addresses, residential addresses, and employment positions held for the last 10 years of each owner, partner, executive officer, manager who will be in charge of the offices to be licensed, managers of an LLC or similar entity, and any holder of a controlling interest in the applicant.

m. Whether any owner, partner, executive officers, manager who will be in charge of     

i. the location to be licensed, or holder of a controlling interest has been involved in              

ii. material litigation and/or convicted of a crime for the ten (10) year 
iii. period prior to the application date. If so, for each such instance, provide the 
iv. title of the action, jurisdiction, date of disposition, and a detailed explanation of the 
v. individual’s involvement.
n. A management chart displaying the applicant’s directors, officers, and managers  

i. by name and title. The chart must also identify compliance reporting and internal  

ii. audit structure. 
iii. For limited and full-service licenses, a written authorization signed by an appropriate officer, partner or owner authorizing the Bureau to examine each trust account in which the applicant will hold customer funds. 
o. A consumer report for each owner, partner, executive officers, manager who will be in charge of the location to be licensed or holder of a controlling interest.

p. A criminal history report for each owner, partner, executive officer, manager who will be in charge of the location to be licensed or holder of a controlling interest. 
q. Whether the applicant has ever been denied a license in another jurisdiction, had a license revoked, been the subject of an administrative proceeding relating to the business for which it seeks to be licensed, or been convicted of a crime related to the business of money transmission, forgery, theft or false representation. If so, for each such instance, provide the title of the action, jurisdiction, date of disposition, and a detailed explanation of the applicant’s involvement.
r. Whether the applicant prepares and issues payroll checks.

s. Whether the applicant prepares and files state income tax withholding or unemployment insurance reports.

t. Whether the applicant collects, holds, and turns over to the State Tax Assessor income withholding taxes or unemployment insurance contributions.
u. Whether the applicant has the authority to access, control, direct, transfer or disburse a client's funds other than arranging for the transfer of funds from an employer's account directly to taxing authorities for payment of the employer's taxes. 

v. If the applicant will be issuing and preparing payroll, proof of fidelity coverage as required by 10 MRSA § 1495-D(2).
w. The total amount of all local, state and federal tax payments and unemployment insurance premiums processed by the payroll processor on behalf of employers in this State in each quarter of the previous calendar year

x. If the applicant collects, holds and turns over to the State Tax Assessor income withholding taxes or unemployment insurance contributions or has the authority to access, control, direct, transfer or disburse a client's funds other than arranging for the transfer of funds from an employer's account directly to taxing authorities for payment of the employer's taxes 
i. surety coverage in the form of an original surety bond or irrevocable letter of credit, in form satisfactory to the Administrator in the amount required pursuant to 10 M.R.S. § 1495-E(1); or
ii. a surety bond in form satisfactory to the Administrator in the amount of $10,000.00 and the required payment to the Payroll Processor Recovery Fund as set out in 10 M.R.S. § 1495-E (2-A).

8.
Changes to existing licensing information. If any information reported by a licensee changes during a period of licensure, the licensee must amend its information on file with   NMLS within 30 days of the occurrence of the change or such shorter period as required by NMLS rules or procedures.  Notice of a change of control of the licensee must be provided to the Bureau by advance change notice on NMLS and the Bureau must approve any change of control before the same becomes effective. 
9. Routine, technical rule. This is a routine technical rule as authorized by 10 M.R.S. 
§ 1495-D(1-A).
STATUTORY AUTHORITY: 10 M.R.S. §1495-D(1-A)
EFFECTIVE DATE:
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