Maine Library Commission

The Library Commission, a 17-member board appointed by the Governor, is broadly representative of the state's library community. The Commission establishes the policies and operations of the State Library, gives advice and makes recommendations on the expenditure of state and federal funds, and establishes guidelines and policies for statewide library programs.

Present Maine Library Commission Board Members with contact information
SOS* Seat # Area Represented Name Address Phone Fax Email
3 Academic Joyce Rumery
Vice Chair
Fogler Library, University of Maine, Orono 207.581.1660   rumery@maine.edu
14 District-CMLD Art Turley 178 Webber Ave,    Lewiston, ME 04240 207.784.1868   ajt@ajturley.com
10 At Large-Disadvantaged Vacant
       
4 Special Charles Campo 37 Main Road South, Hampden, ME 04444 207.862.4113   ccampo@roadrunner.com
12 District-NMLD Helen Fogler Thompson Free Library
186 East Main Street
Dover-Foxcroft, ME  04426
207.564.3350 207.564.3531 hfogler@thompson.lib.me.us
6 At Large Richard Thompson 263 McGrath Pond Road Oakland, Maine 04963 207.993.2057   dick.thompson@maine.edu
5 Institutional Vacant        
15 Trustee Michael Hays PO Box 416, Bass Harbor, ME 04653 207.244.9548   michael.hays.mdi@gmail.com
7 Handicapped Vacant      
1 Public Library Elisabeth Doucett Director, Curtis Memorial Library
23 Pleasant Street
Brunswick, ME 04011
207.725.5242, ext. 211   edoucett@curtislibrary.com
8 At Large Beth Edmonds
Chair
Freeport Community Library, 10 Library Drive, Freeport, ME 04032 207.865.3307   bedmondsfcl@gmail.com
2 School Debe Averill 265 Main Street
Orono, ME
04473
    maverill@adelphia.net
13 District-SMLD Jeffrey Cabral McArthur Library, 270 Main Street, Biddeford, ME 04005 207.284.4181   jcabral@mcarthur.lib.me.us
11 At Large Karen M. Baldacci  186 Eaton Ridge Drive, Holden, Me. 04429     karen.mbaldacci@yahoo.com
9 At Large Vacant      
16 Non Voting ARRC Steve Podgajny Portland Public Library, 5 Monument Square, Portland, ME 04101-4072 207.871.1700 207.871.1703 podgajny@portland.lib.me.us
17 Non Voting ARRC Barbara McDade Bangor Public Library, 145 Harlow Street, Bangor, ME 04401 207.947.8336 207.945.6694 bmcdade@ bpl.lib.me.us

*SOS=Secretary of State